Need some advice

emptyheart89

This is my first time here. My son is very angry with our whole family and I am at my wits end. I will put the situation in as much of a nutshell as I can. My son basically disowned his now 19-year-old daughter because of her behavior. Over the past 18 months I have tried to reunite them many times without success.

My granddaughter was living in the streets with a man old enough to be her father. I finally decided that I could not let the situation go further and took action and help my granddaughter get off the streets into an apartment. I sent her, her SS number so she could get a job & I took her to get her money out of a trust fund she has. My son is furious with me because I have helped her and said that I am enabling her to stay away from home.

This situation has been ongoing for at least 18 months. Without going into all the details he has been angry and not talked to us at least 3 times during this period. I continued to communicate through emails until he would respond.

The latest anger was not only directed at me, he also wrote to his brother and attacked him. This was totally unexpected as they did not have any conversations for at least a month. Does anyone have any experiences similiar and been successful in dealing with this type of behavior? I believe he is very depressed and embarassed because of his daughter and her behavior.

BusynMember

in my opinion, you got involved in a situation that is really not yours to get involved in. You raised your children, your son is trying to let his daughter hit rock bottom so that she will choose to come home and you are stopping that. Whether or not you agree with him or not, it is HIS daughter, not yours. I don't blame him for getting upset. Grandparents trying to "help" wayward grandchildren can put a big kink in how parents are trying to help their kids--and I believe he is trying to help her by not enabling her. I would back off.