New and in need of advice 9yo ADHD

Tarheelcpl

I am new to site but in desperate need of advice. My 9yr old son has ADHD and adolescent anxiety. He has been on medications since he was aprox. 5 yrs old. We have had our ups and downs but last night all I could feel was fear. Little after 8pm told him it was bed time. About 10 min later he goes running into the bathroom screaming. He was bleeding from his hand. He had gotten a pair of scissors from the sewing closet. And was cutting his bedding up, his blinds, and the tip of his thumb. He has done something like this once before... as far as cutting things up. But never hurting himself like this before.
I don't know what to do. I have called his doctor.. he is on vac. So i sit here waiting to hear from the person filling in for our reg. doctor. I am open to any and all advice..
EARS ARE OPEN HERE

BusynMember

Hi there.
My first thought is that they diagnosed him wrong and that much more is wrong than ADHD. In fact, the ADHD medications obviously are not working. I would take him for a complete neuropsychologist evaluation. ADHD does not make kids cut themselves. I would be thinking either mood disorder or somewhere on the autism spectrum. How was his early development--speech, eye contact, ability to transition, socialization with peers? Or do you have mood disorders or substance abuse on either side of the family tree?
I'd definitely want a neuropsychologist evaluation. They are the most intensive and best by far, in my opinion. Has he ever seen a neuropsychologist? Why kind of doctor is taking care of him? ADHD is often the first diagnosis. and often NOT the last one.

susiestar

Roll With It
Midwest mom echoed my thoughts. I do think most of us hear ADHD as the first diagnosis. If you feel that your son is a danger to himself or others, please take him to the ER or call the police for transport to a mental hospital.

It really really sounds like MUCH more than ADHD and anxiety. I am sorry.

Tarheelcpl