new medications

prayerful

I am new to this giving medication stuff and after my son left the psychiatrist today she prescribed him Zoloft for depression she said that he is depressed because he is isolated by his teachers becasue of his adhd so now he will be going to couseling which is no promblem.

Question this zoloft is it harmful?i am reading up on it and so far i feel ok , but in order for me to fill this prescrition i have to feel good inside my soul don't want to do anthing to harm my son just help him if needed fine .

she also made an appointment for him to see a behavior cousenlor and and psy evaluation . for a second opinion ! i don't know new to this i am confused so if there is any one that can help with advice!?

smallworld

What can I say? My son's first diagnosis was ADHD and anxiety. He was prescribed Zoloft at age 12 and had a prolonged intense manic reaction after taking 25 mg for 3 weeks. I'm NOT saying this will happen to your son; I am saying that it does happen to some kids. The best thing you can do is be as certain as you can of the diagnosis before giving your son Zoloft. SSRI antidepressants tend to make kids with bipolar disorder a lot worse.

Is the prescribing doctor a child psychiatrist? How long has she spent getting to know your son and reviewing his medical history as well as family background (many conditions are hereditary)? What behaviors are you seeing that lead the psychiatrist to conclude that your son is depressed? How is he doing on the Metadate? Is it making him better or worse?

Sorry I can't be more encouraging, but I'm gun-shy after our experience with Zoloft.

Hound dog

Nana's are Beautiful
I know Zoloft has worked well for many. My son also wasn't one of them. After 2 doses he became violent and aggressive. (total opposite of his personality)

I refused to give him medications after that. He just took his seizure medications.