New Newbie Introduction

4timmy

Hello

I'm new to the board. Looking for emotional support. My difficult child's name is Timmy. My name is Jen. Timmy was diagnosis'd with ADHD/ODD when he was 7 yo. We obtained an IEP for him just last year so I'm still new to the process. He's in a public school. The school's processes (or lack of) are very confusing and aggrevating for me and my husband. We live in Ohio.

My son is funny, imaginative, witty, and HIGHLY energetic. We've been working on the right "cocktail" of medications for 3 years now and still haven't quite found the right combination that helps him. It's been extremely difficult with each transition. Timmy has been suspended from school twice this year so far for threats made to other students and adults. He has fits of "rage" and hurts himself (head banging, etc.). He's been "kicked out" of 2 daycares in the past. We've been working with a counselor and psychiatrist for over a year now.... the school situation is getting progressively worse. He obsesses over other children not liking him, and the teachers have a hard time getting him to participate in school-related activities. We have met with the school only once this year to set up a "behavior plan" that I don't feel is always appropriate for his needs. The IEP was written in March of '07 and has not been reviewed or addressed since.

I could go on forever and ever and ever here..... I'll save some for other forums. Just wanted to jump on here and say hello and let you all know I'd like to get to know you all..... and become a really good Warrior Mom 4 Timmy!!!.

Thanks,

gcvmom

Here we go again!
Welcome 4timmy -- I like your signature! Very funny :)

Your IEP can be modified at any time and you can request a meeting to make changes at any time -- there are others here who can tell you more about this. We've only had one for my difficult child 2 since the start of this school year.