sessc

sheri
Hi all.

I'm new to all of this....this site (which is wonderful) and to the world of ODD.

My daughter (9) was just recently diagnosed with ODD/ADD and it seems to be getting increasingly worse as the days go by. We are currently struggling with medication. We tried Concerta and it was horrible. The reaction was 10 times worse than a normal outburst. We are now going to try Adderall XR.

We are currently seeing a Phd therapist who is wonderful but I have yet to see any forward progress. After reading some of the threads, it is disheartening to learn that I may not see forward progress. I feel so emotionally beaten down right now. I don't know if I have the strength for this fight. I've been dealing with this for many years, but writing off the symptoms and outbursts to various developmental stages or a strong willed personality or lack of sleep, etc....

My difficult child is very intelligent and can amazingly control herself in school and in public. So teachers and other family members don't pick up on the issues. It is only at home that we experience her explosions. Nothing is sacred in our house. Things are broken, holes in the walls, paint and markers on carpet. She is aggressive with her siblings and beginning to show signs of aggression towards the animals.

I know I am rambling, but I am so lost and confused. I feel like a completely inadequate mother - incapable of controlling my child....wondering what I did wrong....blah, blah, blah.

My other two children (twins, 11) are very affected by their sister's behavior. I guess I am just reaching out for some support and guidance.

I'm sorry I was so wordy but there seems to be so many of you out there. Any words of wisdom or moral support would be so very appreciated.

God Bless!

Christy

Welcome to the forum!