Hopeful30

Hi, I am new to this today....just found it. I think you are all wonderful in support and honesty of what is going on in your lives. I truly appreciate this as I need real life advice. My son, 24 years old just moved back after a few years. Too much past to bring up in my first post. Anyway, things went fairly well for the first couple of weeks. It seems he as adjusted comfortably well to "be himself" I am not exactly sure what that means. That being said, it's not going that well anymore. Diagnosed at 12 and 16-17 with bipolar, he has never been accepting nor does he believe he needs medication. I, on the other hand, have had my doubts as well. Mostly I found him to be a pain in the *** and difficult to handle with a temperament similar to his fathers. (Divorced since my son was 9) Needless to say, I have had more resistance from him than I have cared for. My question is, how do I handle or cope with this phase of my son's life. He is now more difficult to deal with, more violent as he has grown and my husband, his stepfather passed away a few years ago, and more "bipolar". He refuses to believe there is anything wrong with him. I am looking for support groups for me, and he will be seeing a psychologist on the 20th but only because this doctor also has sleep disorder on his list of specialties. A few weeks ago, my son said he woke (but said he was still sleeping, but awake at the same time) to find a women standing next to his bed. He has claimed to have woken before unable to move his body. (I believe this is called sleep paralysis) Any advice or suggestions would be grateful and appreciated.

BusynMember

Hi there. What have you done nice for YOURSELF lately? But more about that later.