new

pnuts

Good Morning...
I am a new member.
Wish I would have known about this place sooner.
I have a 12 year old with bipolar disorder, add, odd...etc. etc.
Sometimes I am totally overwhelmed...like today. Each time I think things are a little better...they get worse. It is difficult to get everyone involved in his care on the same page. psychiatrist has his agenda, Therapist has her agenda, school has their own agenda... No one really working together. Family and friends do not understand...they are more interested in placing the blame for my sons condition.
I am a psychiatric nurse and I know the value of a team approach, but I cannot seem to get the team to work together. Any suggestions?

nvts

Hi! Welcome to the crowd! I don't know that I can give advice as far as getting the team engaged. Family and friends understand to a degree, but most of the time swamp you with "opinions".

In the business world, follow-up was always key, so what I started doing was typing "minutes" of all of my encounters (dr. appts., psychiatrist, therapist, school) whenever a suggestion for change was made (whether medicine, behavioral approach, discipline, etc.) and send "cc's" to the stakeholders (keeping as much privacy intact of course). This drives all of them nuts because there's a paper trail. It also helps if I didn't get something right, the person can correct me and the rest of the team can be up to date!

Again, you've found a great group of people. When you get a chance, go to the My Stuff section up top and fill in your profile. It makes it easier for people to ask questions without you having to repeat yourself. No names, but put in diagnosis and medications.!

Have a great day!
Beth

Marguerite

G'day & welcome. You found us NOW, that's the main thing. Others will be along soon with more specific advice. I'm no expert on bipolar.