Newbie Here

CathyO

Hello everyone.
My name is Cathy and my 5 year old daughter Kelly was just diagnosed with ADHD and ODD.
Does anyone have any advice on where to begin?

smallworld

Cathy, welcome!

It might help us if you give a little background on your daughter. What behaviors are you seeing that concern you? What kind of doctor diagnosed her? Were medications and/or therapy recommended? How does she do in school, both academically and socially? That type of information will help us point you in the right direction.

Again, welcome to the board.

house of cards

Hi Cathy, I'm Kathie too. This is a great place to get ideas, understanding and support. Others will come along with more thoughts, I just wanted to welcome you and suggest you read The Explosive Child and/or parenting with love and logic (not sure of the title) Use what makes sense to you.

A

AprilH

Hi there! My son was diagnosed at age five with ADD/ODD. From this point on, keep detailed records of every piece of paper, prescription she is given, medical records and so forth so you will be fully armed with info when you go to different doctors. It's a good idea to keep a diary of her behavior, appetite, sleep patterns and if they change when she is given new medications also. My son has tried so many medications, I can't keep track of them, save for the diary I have kept. Don't get frustrated (easier said than done!) when you go from doctor to doctor and you have to recite the entire life story up until that point for your daughter and what has been going on with her. I pretty much know my son's verbatim, HAHA! If she is in Kindergarten, you may want to ask her school about the possibility of getting an IEP (Individualized Education Plan) for her also, if it's feasible. There are also Behavioral IEP's too. Those can help you and your daughter's teachers figure out the best way to accommodate her needs at school. This will also open the door for a school counselor to help you along the way.