Over

Hi everyone! I'm a newbie and my signature says most everything, but I wanted to add that Alexis has been off of her Risperdal since the beginning of this Summer due to the psychiatrist's concern about possible side effects. She seems to be doing pretty well as far as the bipolar goes with only some manic episodes, but nothing huge.

The problem we're having is the ODD. I swear I could tell the child the sky is blue, and she'd argue with me and say it was purple just to argue. I'm feeling very run down, and overwhelmed with her, and I am at the point where nothing seems to help. We've punished, we've fussed, we've taken away privileges, we've promised and given positive rewards. She just seems not to care and my stress level is climbing unbelievably. Mostly because the majority of the behavior is directed at me.

I'm wondering if it's common for a child with ODD to direct most of the anger onto one parent? I'm at the point where I don't know whether to laugh, cry, or hide. :whiteflag:

BusynMember

Welcome to the board :D.

It is common for bipolar kids to exhibit lots of ODD behavior. I would feel queasy about having her off medications. It's not good for kids to have manic episodes...they can ingrained on the brain. I have a mood disorder and without medication the moodswings worsen. I would personally want my child on a mood stabilizer rather than just an antipsychotic. Mood stabilizers are Lithium, Lamictal, Trileptal, Tegretal, and Depakote. They work better for the long term.

Also, yes, it is very common for kids with all disorders to take it out on mom more than dad. Dad's, maybe due to their tallness and loud voices and not being around as much, tend to see them at their best and to get a better response in the area of discipline. Sometimes Dad doesn't believe Mom or thinks Mom is just a poor disciplinarian, but that's not it. In my house, even the dogs listen to Dad more than Mom. I swear, it's the deep voice!!!

gcvmom

Here we go again!