mere

Hello everyone,
It is my first time on this site so bear with me. My difficult child 7 year old son was diagnosed with ODD. He has seen 5 different docs/therapist, and I feel like it was all a waste of time and $$. Its as though the docs don't talk to my child only to me and my partner. He is sent into the waiting room every session. I have come to the point where I am in search of a new doctor. I am a person that has in the pass been very able to handle any and everything. Recently, my son's behaviors have sent me over the edge. I find myself exploding even about the littlest things. What options are there to treat ODD? He is such an intelligent boy, academically he is in the top of his class, but his behavior is one day great, then terrible for the next week. He is so defiant towards me, walks all over me, he is very disrespectful towards others and I am out of ideas. So he comes home from school today and tells us the girls at school were making fun of his parents because we're gay. Just another issue to endure. My partner goes to confront the girls parents and the father basically said he would talk to his daughter but also said that my son is awful, he needs help and then proceeded to say my son is the next Timothy McVeigh!! The whole neighborhood thinks we are awful parents and that is the furthest from the truth. I don't know where to turn I'm ready for a nervous breakdown. Any help would be appreciated:sad-very:

LittleDudesMom

Mere,

glad you found your way to our site. You will find that we've been there, done that.

First and foremost, your son needs to be seen by another doctor. I know you don't want to hear that, but five docs and a diagnosis of ODD alone just doesn't cut it. Your son needs a full evaliatiom like a multidisciplinary evaluation or an evaluation by a pediatric nueropdoc. At the very, very least, one of those five docs should have given you some behavior mods and/or suggestions for school.