Observation of kids growing into adults

Abbey

Spork Queen
I had a lovely phone conversation with my eldest easy child son yesterday. He was never a difficult child (except for the one time getting nailed by a cop for having weed) and being the typical lazy teen...didn't go to college, etc.

He's 25 now and has been in a relationship with a girl for 7 years, has a stable job that he's grown into. Went from working in a sub shop for years, but now is an IT manager. Self taught.

His girlfriend is going to college where I went, which is a good distance away. She decided to get an apartment up there. Here's the grown up part.

easy child - Mom...I can't stand the people she's hanging around with. They're all wanna be hippies. They wear the hemp necklaces, but at the same time are doing drugs, wearing $100 shoes and designer shirts and jeans. They're just fakes. All they say is...dude...dude...I tried to strike up an actual intellectual conversation with many and no one could do it. I was disgusting. I can't go back there.

Me - Well, the drugs part was kind part of the culture at that time...designer jeans and such, no. They wrote, they sang, they hung out and shared. They didn't go shopping at Abercrombie.

It was just so weird to see how quickly he 'got it' and how much he's become a man. He knows me and knows that I have always led that lifestyle minus the drug part and would understand.

I think he's struggling now with what to do. I told him...do nothing. If it is important enough for her, she'll get out of that 'fake' group of friends and be real.

It was just so nice to see this kid make these steps.

Abbey

Hound dog

Nana's are Beautiful
Sounds like easy child has plunged head first into maturity. :)