One man's disability

F

flutterbee

My stepfather is blind. He has a condition called Retinitis Pigmentosa. He had to quit driving at age 25. He is now 55. He has virtually no vision. I think if there is a sharp contrast in color (white on black) and if it's large enough he can tell if something is there, but he can't identify it.

My relationship with my stepfather has always been tenuous at best. I might talk to him once a year apart from my mom. I called him when my mom was out of town and we had a lot of snow to see if he needed anything. That's the extent of it. Too many issues from too long ago.

However, what he does in spite of his disability is amazing. He's a woodturner by hobby and the things he makes are absolutely beautiful. Apart from having a couple days a year with a friend showing him something new, he's self-taught.

Over the last couple of weeks, he's been creating a website. It's new and there are a couple of pictures that aren't working, but if you click on the link that reads Pictures, you can see what he's made. Those are pictures of his creations. (The website is also his creation. My mom has a hard enough time with the left-click, right-click thing. :sheepish:)

Pretty amazing what one can accomplish despite one's obstacles.

http://www.blindwoodturner.com/

ETA: He's being featured in some international wood turning magazine and I think will be part of some marketing thing with some company in the industry.

Shari

IsItFridayYet?
That's pretty amazing.

Kudos to you to see thru the junk and see his talents, too, AND want to share. That's not always easy!

F

flutterbee

Thanks, Shari, but don't get all mushy on me. :sheepish: It is pretty cool what he does despite his blindness. And I do respect that about him. But, as all of our kids face some kind of obstacle(s), I thought it might give us mom's a little hope, Know what I mean??

mom_in_training