Open Book Tests

Hound dog

Nana's are Beautiful
Can someone please explain to me the purpose of an open book test? Cuz I'm 42 yrs old and I still don't get the concept. :hammer:

Today we had our mid term for one of my classes. (my hardest one) I studied my tail off as this teacher decided to try a new method of teaching this semester. She's only giving 4 tests. The 2nd being the mid term and the 4th being the final. The midterm was over the first 8 chapters. Because of her new method, we had never been tested over the last 4 of those chapters.

So, totally out of character for this teacher, we get into class and she asks if we want an open book test. Now of course the whole class says Yes! Stupid people. I had her for medication terminology and she always warned us you never wanted to take one of her open book test. They're harder, and they're timed. Class was so excited over the test being open book they didn't even hear this part when she told them.

I don't know about most people, but when I get used to the way a certain teacher teaches or test and they suddenly change it, I'm thrown for a loop that is almost impossible to recover from. I can know the material inside out and still fail.

That's what happened today. I wanted to strangle each person in that room. They'd went from all the time in the world to answer the 100 questions to under 40 mins because the test was timed. :hypnosis: That's less than a min per question. And believe me, with her questions you usually need more than a minute to try to figure out exactly what it is she's asking. This teacher loves to word questions to stump the crap out of you.

Because it was open book I started to second guess myself. A big No No. About half way thru, I get a grip and just start answering the questions. I left a mark on the answer sheet for one's I wanted to check. I was one of the first one's done.