Out of ideas

rainbowellie

Hi everyone. This is my first time posting here and I'm really hoping you can help. I'm at my end with my difficult child, I have no idea what to do with him anymore. He was just recently diagnosed with ADHD and is not medicated at he moment because I didn't know enough about it at the time to make that decision, he is probably ODD as well. He is six. This morning he had a basketball game and we were trying to get out he door, he refused to put his socks shoes and coat on. I held him down and put on his socks while he was screaming and kicking me, but then I had had enough and left him to do his shoes and coat, with ten minutes left before we had to leave. He didn't so either so we left with him in his socks and no coat (we live in Wisconsin, it's very cold and icy) and him punching and screaming how stupid I am and how much he hated me. In the car this all continued with him screaming rude things at me and kicking my seat and attempting to kick me from the backseat, into the place where the game was and he refused to go play or sit down with me. He eventually sat down and settled down and wanted a hug, and then went off to play in the second half of the game. I also have a four year old easy child who I was trying to talk to and play with during all of this.
I have no idea what to do with him, I took away his television for the day, but somehow that doesn't seem sufficient and I know it won't stop this from happening again. Do you all have any ideas?
Thank you~Ellie

Sara PA

I would have taken away basketball, not television. He either gets ready to go or he doesn't go. If he doesn't get ready, take off your coat, hang it up and go about your business. If he gets kicked off the team because of it, so be it. His choice.