Parent Advocate

susiestar

Roll With It
I have been wondering about becoming a parent advocate. I need to do something. I am hoping that the new medications will make it possible for me to start some kind of career.

someone posted about knowing a woman who started a business helping parents with the IEP process, getting the evaluations, etcetera.

I think this is something I could do. I know there are NO advocates in my town, probably not in the area. And finding one in the big cities is impossible.

So what qualifications would YOU want in a parent advocate?

I don't have a degree in counselling or social work or anything. I have a business degree. But I ahve worked long and hard to find the ins and outs of our district and state. I am willing to get more training, to take classes at the university. heck, I can probably get scholarships for any classes.

If you can remember who mentioned knowing a woman who started a business doing this, please let me know. I would like to ask her some questions.

I really need to start thinking about something to do. I spent a lot of time learning about this stuff to help my family. I would enjoy owrking with other families for this kind of thing.

Thanks for the help.

Abbey

Spork Queen
I've never been a parent advocate, but a youth advocate through the court system. It was called (and I KNOW I will spell this wrong) guardian at litem. Something like that.

I'd go to court for a child who was in trouble. I would do family visits, spend time with the child, then report to the judge what I thought was going on. It was tremendously rewarding as you worked with families who were in need of every kind of counseling and assistance. Small town...the judges knew me and trusted my opinion. The goal was to keep the kid in the family, but sometimes that wasn't an option.