Phone call from my son

in a daze

Got home from the hospital Wednesday. Told staff he didn't need any prescriptions. Said he had refills. Not true. Needed one for new medication, Zyprexa. Good thing I checked. However, should have made them write for everything. No refills on lithium. Zoloft probably increased. Lamictal remained the same. Nurse said, "your son is an adult." Yes. An immature, mentally ill adult with ADHD.

Clueless addiction unit nurse concluded that medication list from psychiatric unit was what he came from home with? What psychiatric unit doesn't change or increase the medications on a patient? I'm a hospital nurse and I would never send my patient out with such a messed up discharge. No final report on neuropsychologist report. Called halfway house while difficult child at Walgreens, they were not expecting him till next day. I did call the social worker to tell her I was not happy. The discharge was rushed because insurance was balking on paying for more days. difficult child said he felt stable and calm.

So he calls me, leaves message yesterday. Severe anxiety with restlessness. Called office, left number of psychiatrist and Walgreens. Communication can be difficult as cell phones are not allowed unless at work or on job hunt and pay phone at house always busy signal.

Then calls me today. Extreme anxiety, "blackouts with flashbacks" related to his delusions? He has had trouble remembering the events which led up to his hospitalization and maybe thinks some things which were delusions actually happened...he has expressed that the other clients were messing with him in various ways...don't know if this really happened or not and maybe the anxiety is related to this.