Q is worried about dying

buddy

Q had a tricky morning and I ended up driving with him to calm him before the bus came. I hate when that happens. Anyway we ended up playing that I was a bus driver and he was laughing so hope his day is ok. Still, for the last two days he has asked me if he is going to die. He keeps saying he is not going to live long anyway. I ask him why and he says he doesn't know he just feels that again like has happened before. He said that he prays to God to let him think of friends and other things but it doesn't work, he keeps thinking he is going to die.
He always likes me to tell him he is fine so I did and encouraged him to keep talking about it but darn it makes me so sad for him. no anti-anxiety medication has ever worked and mostly we just have to help him thru it. I know it is this big adjustment and he will be fine but it seems so unfair sometimes to have such big worries when he has already so many challenges. Just feeling sorry for myself and Q I guess.

DaisyFace

Love me...Love me not
buddy--

I wonder if it would help if you asked him what part of dying worries him so much? After all, we are ALL going to die at some point. Is he worried it will happen too soon? Is he worried that it will hurt? That he will miss his friends? That he will miss out on something he always wanted to do? Is he worried about the afterlife? Or does death just seem unknown and scary?

Maybe once you break it down it is easier to address the specific concern..?

Malika

Yes, Daisy Face's point seems wise. What is it exactly about dying that worries him, or what does dying represent to him?
Seems like Q has done extremely well thus far in making this transition and I suppose "blips" are only to be expected, though that does not make it easier for him or you.

C

Confused

buddy,