Risperdal question

hersheyb79

My DS was put on Risperdal about 4 weeks ago (.25mg). I guess this is supposed to be helping his "impulsivity " according to the P-DR. By impulsivity I'm assuming he means his violent rages...my choice was to address the rages or the possible ADHD, obviously I chose the rages.

My question is how long does it usually start to work. It's been 4 weeks and there's no change is his behavior or attitude. He's supposed to see his P-DR on 4/12, so not too long, but I'm just curious if my expectations are out of wack for thinking I should be seeing some improvements by this point.

nvts

No, it's not out of whack! You should be seeing a change HOWEVER, your psychiatrist seems to be doing the right thing by starting at the very lowest level and working his way up. .25 mgs is pretty much a low dose. It also depends on what may be fueling the rages. If they're based on anxiety, ap's won't really touch it. Now, I'm not a doctor (nor have I ever played one on tv! lol!), but it seems that he's going to approach medications cautiously...and I know it's hard, but try and have patience. As the dosages increase, it might be wise to keep some sort of record as to what behaviors seem to be slowing down and any that may increase. There's no exact science to helping our kids, whether it be via medications or therapy, so unfortunately, it comes down to trial and error.

Huge hugs...I know this is all really frustrating!

Beth

hersheyb79

Thanks, he is very cautious and he also is very adamant that medications are only a support to behavioral therapy (which isn't going very well). His preschool gave him the BASC-2 test and so I'll have that to take with me when we go back (he tested way high on a lot of areas :( ). It's just hard to be spending all this time in therapy and giving him these medications when none of it is doing much to help. I will say that the behavioral therapy has helped a little. So it's not a total waste.

newdawning

Hello,