ilovemykids

I need to vent (it's my first time here). My heart is breaking for my 6 year old son. He was diagnosed with ADHD and ODD last year,....after trying to get one since he was 18months. I'm so frustrated that we keep getting doctors (I'm so sick of them) who dismiss me, like I don't know what I'm talking about or they say well as long as things in school are doing ok that's all I'm worried with. I want to punch them. We have 3 other small children (younger than him) and his behavior is creating complete chaos in our house and is affecting them too. Plus the medications he's on (Stratera) make him soooooo tired that he started having almost daily overnight accidents (he can't wake up now-hadn't had an accident since 2 1/2) and to keep himself from falling asleep he gets worse just to stimulate himself...on the weekends he started taking a 4 hour nap after being up only 3 hour....again he hasn't napped since 2 1/2. But once again the doctors won't change the medication....by the way I've seen 4 and none of them will!!!- seeing another one in a few weeks). I just want to scream!!! He is such a wonderful kid when he's not being defiant....I just wish we could help him better.