Seriosly gotta rant post

witzend

Those of you who know me know that I have Muscular Dystrophy, and those of you who have met me probably realize that while I look fairly normal, I move pretty slowly. I'm on SSD and am able to supplement my income in a very limited way by doing some bookkeeping.

I have been doing bookkeeping for this guy, E, for about 4 years now. Three years ago I started my own business and work for him and a few others here and there as a contractor. E is a totally abusive boss. He's purposefully vague in giving direction so that he always has someone else to blame. He works at most maybe 20 hours a week and expects everyone else to pick up the slack - me included even though I know sh-- all about industrial fan repair, he micromanages like no one you have ever seen and make sure that no matter what you're doing you're not doing it his way even if you have accomplished whatever it is that he needs to have done. Things need to be done over and over and over again to prove to him that you did it his way. There's never a right answer to any question because he has already thought out every way that you can do it wrong and immediately tears into you. I do his payroll.

He one employee, who has been working for him for about 9 years. D is not the sharpest tool in the shed as far as computers go, but he knows the stuff on the fans, and he's honest. He takes after E's example of not wanting to put in a 40 hour week. But then again, D might come to work in the morning, and E will say "We're doing night work, so we've got to be downtown at 4 this afternoon." What? The phone doesn't work both ways? He couldn't call D and tell him to come in later? There's never a schedule. There's never any idea of what they will be doing one day to the next. It doesn't bother E too much because we work out of his 8000 sf house so all he has to do to take the morning off is not walk to the North wing of the house.