This detachment idea looks promising

Survivor

Newbie here, but am a survivor of my adult bipolar sons behavior. After years of helping, bailing him out, paying his rent, trying to get him on the straight and narrow, we have seen the light and are trying to detach. He pulled a gun on husband last week and held it to his head, thank god, he didn't pull the trigger, but he did shoot up the neighborhood. He is in jail now and doesn't remember any of it, he was on drugs and manic at the time. He says We made it up and calls with demands on how to get him out. We are not accepting his calls, but he has conned some jailer into using his phone a couple of times. he seems amazed that he could do time over this. He is trying to manipulate me: he loves me; His dad is dead to him;if I ever want to see my grand babies I'll pay the bail ( as far as I know he doesn't have any kids so this must be future kids he's manipulating me with, LOL!) The Shock is wearing off, it's good to have peace at the house again, and I'm trying not to feel guilty about leaving him alone to work it out himself. I've been lurking for a while, just wanted to share and let you know I appreciate all your posts. Knowing there are other warriors & survivors out there gives me hope.

recoveringenabler

Staff member
Welcome Survivor! Wow, you've been through the mill haven't you? I'm glad you found us but of course, sorry you had to. It sounds like the time has come for your son to face the consequences of his behavior, it's now out of your hands.

There is an article at the bottom of my post here on detachment, you may find it helpful. Many of us look to NAMI, the National Alliance on Mental Illness for support for US, the parents. They have wonderful courses for parents which are excellent. You can access them online, they have chapters everywhere.