This is just getting too much...laypeople diagnosing others (I am guilty too)

BusynMember

In my quest to find a safe site to post my pains and hurts on :) I do have one site and have gone to many other sites and I am both amused and alarmed at how many non-professionals feel that, based on their own experiences and some "traits" listed, they are now qualifed to diagnose others with severe personality disorders. Suzir hit on this once. Suzir, good call again.

I had to reassess myself as well as others.I am not a doctor. Yes, I can read symptoms, which may or may not be the experience that EVERYONE has with a person. Isn't it more honest to say, "She has been mean to me?" or "We have a toxic relationship" (therefore accepting your own role in it). Isn't it more honest to just say "Mom was horrible to me, but not to everyone" and leave the label off? From now on, I'm not using labels anymore. Am I a qualified diagnostician? No.

Many sites encourage their members to read symptoms and label people they don't get along with as having serious personality problems, although I'm sure those people do not have problem with everybody. The other sites seem to encourage this layman diagnosis.

This could be dangerous if X told Y, say at work, "My XXX is borderline/narcissistic/schizophrenic/etc...and they know each other. I'm just blown away at how many sites encourage the labeling, although there is no guarantee the poster is stable.