Thoughts and Opinions Sought

gclarke

Hello -
Wishing to be succienct here.

I have a 12 year old son that I have been raising for the past 5 years on my own (post-divorce). Even well prior to the divorce and as very young child my son exhibited mild definance, negativity and judgemental behavior and comments. This is most often directed to women which is very disconcerting.

When confronted with even mild, calmly delivered suggestions or attempts to discuss his poor judgement or action, he will simply begin to sob, silently and become very quiet.

An additional behavior he has exhibited for years and now seemingly getting worse is a casual indifference or ambiguity. A simple shrug of the shoulders and "I don't know." is often the reply to questions about his behavior or action. This will often result in the quiet tears too if pressed to give me more of an answer.

School, teachers and other parents love my son as a polite, well spoken, little bit flaky, highly intelligent young man. He loves animals. Has never been in any trouble, is a great student.

Now, I have taken him to two different therapist over the years. One spoke with him for 4 sessions and the Dr. told me to go home, that there is nothing he won't outgrow. During the divorce I took him to another one. My son simply would not communicate to her. After four sessions her comment was, keep sending him until he speaks. I could not afford $150 a pop to have him sit for an hour while she did other things.

Now at 12 and in the 7th grade I am increasingly concern about him and the future that he seems to be creating. So the question are; does this sound like something familiar to any of you? What did you do? Did it help?

Thanks,
Gary

Sheila

He seems extremely sensitive.

If your son can't relate to this therapist, find another. Sometimes it takes a while to find the right fit between psychologist and patient.

DDD