Tics ????

shellyd67

difficult child may be developing a tic. I have noticed he is biting on his shirts around the shoulder area on both sides to where they are wet from his saliva. Also notice he is jerking his neck around (similiar to someone trying to get water out of their ear) but this is very slight. Not sure if these are tics are not? Any advice ? I am going to call psychiatrist in the AM but from research I have done, Tics usually have to run their course ... One more thing to worry about ... On the brighter side of things, difficult child has been an absolute angel since school let out. Keeping him nice and busy is helping. Thanx !:D

tictoc

Hi,
I'm not an expert, but my son has Tourette's Syndrome and I've seen a lot of tics...So, subtle head jerking is a very common tic. Biting his shirt sounds less like a tic or, if it were a tic, I would expect it to appear after a lot of other more minor tics have occurred for a fair amount of time. Perhaps he is anxious and the shirt biting is a way to relieve the anxiety. There could be more than one thing going on here. Did both behaviors start at the same time?

Tics usually begin in the face and head, e.g. blinking, grimacing, licking lips, head shaking. They often then progress to other parts of the body, e.g. arm jerking, kicking, etc. Vocal tics, when they appear, usually come after motor tics have started.

Has your son recently switched medications or had an increase in his Concerta? Stimulants often can lead to tics and/or increase anxiety.

A call to you doctor is a good idea. As you already know, tics do just have to run their course. Our difficult child doesn't like to talk about his tics. Sometimes I check in with him if I see a new tic that looks like it might hurt or be uncomfortable for him. Has your difficult child mentioned either the head jerking or the biting? Does he seem bothered by either?