Time for a raise...

hearts and roses

Mind Reader
I hate asking for raises. I hate having my annual review, I just hate all of that. I used to work at the utility company on LI, a million years ago, and I had to be part of the Workers Union. The raises were automatic every 6 months like clockwork. If you got a promotion, then you'd get a little more money. Otherwise, there were none of those uncomfortable sit downs and discussions about strengths and weakenesses, negotiations about what I want and what the boss will give. Ugh.

I was due for my annual review in April. I reminded Boss in June, July, August, September, October and again last week. Each time he says, "Oh yes, we have to sit down, don't we? How 'bout next week when I get back from Timbucktoo?" I say okay, next week comes and goes and no sit-down. It's not so much that I need the sit down. I've been doing the same job for 11 years this January and another 4 more before those 10 for the same man in the same industry. I can do my job blind folded - there really aren't any surprises. I am well trusted and respected by my co-workers, my boss, our business colleagues and associates. I do my well and am easy to talk to and people in this office and our other two offices always come to me first when there is a question or problem. I've trained everyone personally who works under me, and some who work over me. I know just about every single aspect of this company and how to run it. I am the only one who does the books for 7 different accounts, most of them escrow, and I do all the payroll and human resources, plus I administer the healthy coverage plans we negotiate each year with our agent. I do not think that I need to have a sit-down. in my opinion, it is what it is and basically, "JUST GIVE ME MY RAISE". Know what I mean????

So, why, oh why, am I so nervous-in-the-belly when it comes time to say, "Boss, will we bea ble to make time today to sit down and talk?"