Treatment facilities

N

notafolksinger

This is my first time to post. I really need advice and support.

My son, who will be 16 in two weeks, has been diagnosed with conduct disorder, early onset, and that is his only diagnosis. No medications.

He is currently in juvenile detention for vandalism, misuse of a computer, and calling in a bomb threat to his school. He has also been threatening and bullying peers. He's been suspended from school every year since first grade. But his conduct is worse now.

The court will not pay for treatment but will let me place him. I have narrowed down the search. But I am not sure which type of facility. I was surprised that most places turned him down for their "level of care."

I want the best intervention possible. His psychologist is not much help--he's all smiles and little substance.

Basically I'm wondering what type of luck people have had with the following:

• There's school number one with an enrollment cap of 10 boys. It focuses on behavior modification and social, emotional, and academic needs. High credentials for staff. Also treats sexual offenders. That's the part that scares me.
  • There's school number two with an enrollment of 30. It's behavior modification but uses positive peer culture. I'm afraid my son will walk all over these people.
  • Military school

N

notafolksinger

I should reply to my own message. School number one does not currently have sex offenders but does accept them. In terms of clinical treatment, I prefer it.

School number two represents the norm that I've found--I'm worried that counseling is only once a week (hasn't worked in a year) and that positive peer culture is not enough.

I'm worried that military school will not focus on emotional issues.

smallworld

Welcome! I'm glad you found us.

I'll let someone with more experience with treatment facilities jump in to answer your questions, but I hope you won't mind if I pose some questions to you. Your answers will help us help you.