Turning the tables - long

rlsnights

Newbie here with a 26 yo difficult child 1 dual dxd severely physically disabled kid.

Had to share my latest little trip to take him back to The City where he lives (100 miles away from us!!!) cause I know you will all appreciate the irony here.

The only reason he was visiting us was because he had to or lose his housing. He'd been hospitalized for 8 weeks with 2 broken arms and broken femur after he provoked someone into assaulting him (or at least that's his current story).

He wanted to leave AMA 5 days before they could get services in place to support his return home. At the discharge case conference (15 in attendance) he told them all he was leaving after the meeting, that they couldn't stop him (dummies had gotten him a loaner power wheelchair after I TOLD them not to) and that he didn't care if he lost his housing. (He'd only been there 2 weeks when he got hurt; IDEAL housing for him - with-c accessible studio, onsite nursing, case management, psychiatric care, special arrangements to hold housing during short term hospitalizations like this one as long as patient returns cooperatively - a dream come true if only he was paying attention.)

Gritting my teeth, I finally coaxed him to come home to our house for the weekend while all the arrangements were put in place for him to go back to his house. Only reason I was there was as trustee for his special needs trust. We often end up paying for stuff MediCaid won't pay for like bath chairs. But we don't usually find out he needs them unless we go to meetings like this.