Weed use

evafirefly

I'm new to any forum & want your wisdom in dealing with my almost 18 y.o. son's weed addiction. He feels his only problem is me, his parent & the courts. 2 & 1/2 yrs ago he did a 6 wk. outpt. tx program when I found out he was using & I had him see a counselor to deal with hisdepression/anxiety issues, never tx with medications. Then about a yr ago he got a possession charge, wanted to pay the fine, but I insisted on transfer to juvenile court & tx. Recently admitted he has been using daily this whole year, his way of saying f.y. to the system and standing up for his beliefs. He had been in an outpt 2 x a wk treatment this year. His P.O. thought his program was testing & visa verse and he faked tests by using a cleansing product "Striped". He is now locked up in juvenile detention for failing the terms of his probation. He will be released home with electronic monitoring to participate in drug court and intensive outpt. tx. He is well liked by teachers and peers, he has a full time job and is graduating, not the greatest grades, never has. Any advice on getting him off weed?

BusynMember

If he doesn't want to stop, he won't stop. It's not easy to quit daily use of pot (assuming that is really all he is using as far as drugs go). I had a friend once who used pot daily for about ten years and it was hard for him to get off of pot because it is psychologically addicting. He had to go for serious counseling to quit and he did it because he had just had a baby with his wife and he felt he was slacking off in the work department by smoking weed. He was in his 30's! He did quit, but it was a battle as he was so used to lighting up first thing in the morning, etc. He became quite successful after he quit.