Well behaved at home..Defiant at school

K

KatieMack

I am new to this support group and have enjoyed reading the topics and threads..
I have a delema that I am in deseprate need of help on..we have a wonderful, bright, happy, (adopted at age 2) 7 year old son..he is a joy to be around at home, always eager to help out, do his chores, eat his veggies, do homework, clean his room take baths using REAL SOAP AND WATER...and even brush his teeth!
But...at school..out of our controlled enviroment (we have an adopted 28 year old aspergers child, so routine is our way of life) he is defiant, mouthy, rude..refusses to obey..throws things..has temper tantrums..mocks the teacher..bullies other kids...has no friends..and spends most of the school day in time out or tears.
He has been tested by the school system and does not meet the requirement for an IEP..(Tests high-Average IQ)
getting into to see the psychiatric is going to take several months.and getting a diagnosis will take even longer,.how can we help our child to cope with school in the meantime??
Thank you in advance
Katie Mack

Allan-Matlem

Hi,

Lots of challenging kids usually can muster up effort to hold things together at school only to come home to explode where they feel safe. It seems you have provided a home environment responsive to his needs . Even if a child does not have a diagnoses or an IEP , it does not mean that there are no problems or the way to deal with problems is with reward and punishment.

I recommend the book by Ross Greene ' Lost at school

The way to go is fill out a check list of lacking skills and unsolved problems that your child is having at school - see the ALSUP assessed lacking skills and unsolved problems checklist at http://livesinthebalance.org or the TSI - thinking skills inventory at http://thinkkids.org - there are 2 CPS collaborative problem solving sites
Problem are solved by helping kids acquire skills in the context of their and teacher concerns.

Allan

T

TeDo