What do you think?

I'm just interested in your thoughts on these stimulants for ADHD. What do you know about them? Specifically Adderall! Do you think they are dangerous?

Sara PA

Adderall is mixed amphetamine salts. "Speed" to those of us from the 60's. It and all the stims can be dangerous -- sudden death is a listed (though extremely rare) adverse reaction. Can't get much more adverse than that.

That said, millions of people take these drugs both with or without prescriptions and don't have any real problems. For many people (most?) the period when the drug wears off can be a bit rough. In the ADHD world it's called stimulant-rebound. It could be called daily withdrawal. Long term chronic (daily) use can cause depression. But there is no denying that the drugs can help a great deal with focus.

mstang67chic

Going Green
Keep in mind I'm not a doctor but....

My son has been on Adderall and Adderall XR for years. His psychiatrist thought we'd try taking him off of it a couple of years ago to see if maybe he'd "grown out of" his need for it. NOT a good thing. He bounced off the walls and couldn't focus for more than a minute at a time if he was lucky. He hasn't had any side affects from it at all. He's got an appetitie and is pretty lanky but then again so are all of his bio sibs. Bio mom is skinny too but I'm not sure if that's genetics or just her lifestyle. He's also now "zombified" either. In fact, when he was younger (11 ish), he would be on the correct dose but still have lots of energy. So much so that I would have him run a couple of laps around the back yard to burn some off. Overall, for my difficult child it's been a good medication for him. He's also on a mood stabalizer and some people don't do well with a ms and a stimulant but he's never had any real issues with it.

If you have concerns or questions, don't hesitate to talk to the doctor about it and do research on your own.

crazymama30