What is the local headline in your town today?

busywend

I started to think about just how different our lives are - we have many similarities, but really even the towns we are in are probably so different in many ways as well.

The headline here is that 13 catholic schools (12 elementary and 1 jr high) are closing! Yikes! Two of them I attended. My high school closed 3 years after I graduated. So, I now have only one school that I attended still open. That was the public school I went to for 2 years after my mom left my dad and before she remarried - she just could not afford private education on her own.

This is pretty sad for all the kids impacted (1,868) and the staff that will lose their jobs (about 200 people). But, also for those of us that have memories of attending school there. It saddens me.

What is going on in your town today?

trinityroyal

In my city today: Another shooting, another innocent bystander dead. Second time in less than a week.

It's heartbreaking :crying: and it makes me so incredibly angry. Both men were fathers of young children. One of them was going home early so that he could take his son out skating the next day. This latest man was filling in doing an extra shift at the fruit market, to help out his boss.

It's just not right. So very sad.

Headlines in my city almost always have to do with taxes, the real estate market, or the water shortage. I think this is because there is so much violence here that it doesn't MAKE the headlines, anymore.

For instance, we learned on the local news that a woman had been kidnapped from her home. The man who did it has been apprehended but, the last I heard, the woman herself has not been found.

That's one.

Another is that there are a group of people here who will stand trial for slavery. Apparently, they have been smuggling people across the border and then, chaining them up unless they are working the fields.

They fed them twice a day and worked them six days a week.