What to tell the other child

saintkas

I am new to the grew with a newly "identified" ODD difficult child. I tried to find a previous thread on this topic but I couldn't, so forgive me if I am repeating something. If there is a thread about this already, please point me in that direction.

I have a 15 yo who probably has ODD. He starts with a psychologist this week. I also have a 10 yo who doesn't show any of the same tendencies. The 15 yo is trying too convert the 10 yo to his way of seeing things, particularly trying to convince him that my wife and I are evil and wrong about everything we say.

Since the 15 yo sucks up all the air in the room, the 10 yo struggles to get his fair share of attention and family resources. When the 15 yo acts out, the anger and emotions scare the 10 yo, he doesn't understand why his brother is so upset.

Of course, the 10 yo idolizes his older brother.

My question is, as we move forward what do we tell the younger brother about the nature of the 15 yo's problem? How do we explain to him that the 15 yo's behaviors are not the successful ways to behave? How do we tell him that the older brother has a disability that is causing all the anger and hostility? How do we tell him he needs to live his own life and not try to be just like his older brother?

Any suggestions will be appreciated.

aeroeng

Mom of Three
ODD is not a real helpful diagnoses as it is very general. Hopeful y as you progress you will get a more detailed prognosis.

One problem with difficult children is the effect on a younger sibling. My difficult child would absolutely destroy his brother. Which hurt all the more because of the idolizing. I referred to the younger one as "difficult child in training" because he learned a lot from difficult child. When this happens my proper response is to become very angry and hit the wall. Strategies we used include: