When they start school

F

FlipFlops

I'm posting this here and in Special Education 101.
I have been coming here for several years, on and off. My child was diagnosis bipolar when he was 5. He's 11 now. I've been to countless ARDs, evaluations, doctors etc. I don't claim to be an expert or anything of the sort but I have learned 2 things in the last month that I wish I would have done from the beginning.

KEEP ALL PAPERWORK!!!
(WRITE UPS/ARD NOTICES/evaluations/ANYTHING)
Even if you throw everything in a completly unorganized pile or box in the corner somewhere, keep it all. You can organize it later if you need to but just keep it!! Here's why. Last month my son kicked a staff member. Assault charges were filed and the district was trying to expel him. I have learned that at the end of the year most non-essential paperwork is shredded. Although I did not keep all the discipline notices/write ups during the first three years, I did have at least 90% of them. I was able to go back through these and flag all the ones that showed the same behaviors (behaviors that got him diagnosis'ed in the first place). Showing up to the manifestation ARD (MDR) with a 2" binder with several hot pink post its sticking out of it was impressive, especially because they no longer have this paperwork and have no idea what all I have flagged. Unfortunately I was not allowed to present my information which was a violation on their part and brings me to my next point.
RECORD ALL MEETINGS!!