A longer school day and school on Saturday??? Anyone hear about this?

BusynMember

I was at my daughter's volleyball game last night when a friend told me that Obama is trying to push through a longer school day and a six day week plus only two weeks of summer vacation because we are behind Europe.

I voted for Obama, but this blew my mind. I don't care about other countries. I think that's too much school! In my opinion, the dropout rate would soar, parents would end up in mental hospitals (as well as kids who are more challenged in schools) and it's just an all around horrible idea (if it's even true). I don't want my kids to have to live, eat and breathe school and never relax.

Ugh. If this had been the law when I was younger, I would have dropped out, cut, tried to get thrown out etc. Whatever happened to family time? If this ever happened, I'd probably homeschool, and I don't want to have to do that.

Is this even true?

JJJ

We need year round school. I studied this issue when I was on the curriculum committee at a school I taught at. The benefits are enormous and the only drawback is getting people to change their mindsets (which is a huge barrier).

Special Education kids have the greatest benefit!

Kids attend school for 9 weeks and then are off for 3 weeks. Generally, the student body is divided into 4 teams. The teams are off-set so that 3 are in session and 1 is off at all times so it also eases over crowding.

Benefits of YRS
*no more "summer loss" of knowledge (currently, the first 6-8 weeks of the school year are spent reviewing the previous year's material)

*no need for funding for summer school (although some districts offer 'intersession' classes for a fee)