A note from Anne Lamott........

recoveringenabler

Staff member
I'm a fan of the writer Anne Lamott. This is from her FB page, often there are humorous pearls of wisdom to be found there........

************************************************************************************************************

I thought of a great title for a book: What I Think You Should Do: The Road to Happiness.
Perhaps you think this makes me sound a little controlling. Hah! Nothing could be farther from the truth. It's just that I have some good ideas on how everyone could change and proceed, in order for things to make more sense, and for everyone to have better self esteem. And for me to be able to relax and savor this life.
The chapters would rang from which medications I believe certain family members ought to be taking, and how to convince them to start taking them, to ways Britain can get out of leaving the EU.
Also, how to help other drivers come around to Good Neighbor Driving.
Now, it has been suggested that I and people of my ilky ilk have a disease of good ideas. This is very rude, not to mention hurtful. It is just that left to my own devices, I truly believe that if you give me the details of your life, I have some solutions for you, a path on which you and your awful children and tragic parents can finally begin to thrive.
I come by this honestly. By the age of five or six, in a household with an elegant, erudite form of alcoholism, black belt co-dependence, extreme and unmeetable standards, a Potemkin marriage, huge secrets, and adorable, stunned, high-achieving and very tense children, I was expected to help keep the family afloat.
So I did, or at any rate, I tried. I had a caseload--I was mom's husband, dad's wife, the dog's psychiatrist. I raised my younger brother for them, Although it took every ounce of focus and life force, I was glad to do it. Plus it made everyone like me more.