A plea to those lucky posters who have not walked in our shoes

BusynMember

A simple "I'm sorry" is probably more helpful than advice.

I speak as somebody going through a hard time now with my very disturbed grown child. It's very hard to understand walking in our shoes if you haven't. Lately, in my opinion we've had some insensitive posts, probably not on purpose, but again until you walk in our shoes, you can't possibly relate or give helpful advice.

I try hard not to answer posts if I have no experience with the situation. Also, posters who are not from the U.S. or Canada, please also respect our cultures and that we may do things differently because we don't have any other options.

Thanks for reading this :)

A

accmama

It might be helpful if these boards were not viewable by the general public. Perhaps changing the settings so that only members can see the posts would help. I just realized that I can see all the boards and posts without being logged in. I know it wouldn't deter everyone, but it might be better to require logging in before reading.

BusynMember

I think that's a good idea. Nothing is worse than coming to our safe place and seeing judgment about our choices, just like we hear all the time from those who have kids who don't do these things and are NOT on the forums. It's not like I share my story with too many people as it is and when somebody comes here and belittles how I have managed to survive or assumes we are NOT doing enough for our grown kids, it is devastating to read.