Am frustrated with our doctor!!

N

notnowkids

I swear, I could just about scream whenever we get a "helpful" handout from our doctor. I'm reading over the one from this session, and one of his suggestions for this week is to help difficult child get organized, i.e. have a place for everything and everything in it's place. I HAVE BEEN DOING THIS FOR OVER TWO YEARS!!!! Everything has a place. Whenever we move or rearrange things, I do the initial organization/cleanup and then let everyone know where everything goes. The problem is that no one, husband included, puts a DARN thing back, and then when difficult child can't find something, she has a complete and utter meltdown.

For example, here's an excerpt from this week's handout:
--Help organize to prevent frustration. Put things in one place when she’s done with it. School items go into one place (into her backpack, then into her room in a cubby in her closet). Stuff for church or for a particular sport goes all in one place (travel Bible stays in the car). All library books go into only ONE spot on the shelf so that they can be found again without looking in 50 places (second shelf to the far right).

GAH! I'm just so irritated. He keeps suggesting that we try things that we have ALREADY TRIED AND THEY DON'T WORK.
:angry-very:

CrazyinVA

Staff member
Maybe you should pre-empt him by creating a list of what you've tried to date, and faxing it or bringing it to the next session, and asking his thoughts on it! I know it's frustrating... the search for the "right" psychiatrist takes awhile, sometimes. If this one continues to be unhelpful, keep searching.

susiestar

Roll With It