Another newbie here....

goldilocks

Taming the bear
Where to begin? Most recently, fam therapist found this website and said "try this." Here I am. Not quite sure how this will help. Feeling like the only one on the planet with this problem. (That's why?) Currently, difficult child and I await court appearance for my having had her arrested for stealing "our" inheritance ($7k from my mother's recent death) and spending/giving it away to new/old "friends" as fast as she could in about a week. (We couldn't afford that---I had a list of things needing to be paid/repaired/replaced... oh, well.) But waiting 3 mos. for court date is awful, not knowing what's going to happen. Everyone said "Call the cops on her!" I finally did. Now what is a judge going to do? I'm not ready to give her up to the state. I don't want her in an environment (juvie) where she will learn to be better at being bad. I want her to get into a residential behavioral program (to teach her to be better at being good, and give her a chance to be away from me---it's a teen daughter & mother thing) but hear the state doesn't want to foot the bill for those anymore. Their tuition is more than I gross per year! How do "ordinary" people do it? School won't admit she's "severely emotionally disturbed" to qualify her for SD funding. (Despite her attempted OD the weekend my mother was dying). She's just beginning the "really bad" stuff now and I'm terrified for her/us.
Comments from those higher on the wrungs of the CD ladder? Is there really anything anybody in this forum can do to help us?

Me: 50-something, single mom, teacher, hearing impaired, physically phffftt, feeling guilty, tired of the battles.
difficult child: 16 yr. female diagnosis: severe depression, conduct disorder/ anti-social personality (inherited from her father(?), a "born liar"). Rx: Lamictal and recently lithium, too. She's beautiful and can fix anything. She can make me laugh out loud (when I'm not screaming at her).

OpenWindow