Another newbie here...

ca_girls

Hi,

I've been perusing everyone's posts and am so impressed with the level of support and camaraderie. This is definitely where I need to be!

My 10 yr daughter was just diagnosed with ODD. I'd never even heard of it before, but all the info I've since researched describes my daughter exactly... need of total control, tries to be the parent, hurtful, disrespectful, constant temper tantrums, completely focused on her needs, has no idea how her behavior affects others, etc.

We have always attributed her behavior to just being a spirited child and more recently, hormones. But in the past few months, it has all gotten dramatically worse and I realized it was more than just personality. It was chemical. Recently she's taken to hurting her little sister, grabbing her arms and bruising her, shoving her, grabbing her cheeks/chin and wrenching them.

When I took her to her pediatrician, I was looking for anti-anxiety medication. Her pediatrician refused, instead recommending therapy. I think therapy is totally valid and necessary, but I don't think it will help until her brain chemistry is regulated. I have another call in to the pediatrician, but of course, she's out till the end of the week. Hopefully another dr will call back tmro.

I'm glad to have a diagnosis and to know that there is help coming. I'm scared to death knowing that if she doesn't get help or if it doesn't work, the consequences will be dire. My heart is breaking for her and I want to fix it all, but at the same time, I emotionally exhausted and can't take any more. Fortunately, my husband and I have a very strong marriage and totally lean on each other in dealing with all this.

Can anyone give me info on possible medications? Would it be better to contact a pshychiatrist for medications rather than her pediatrician?

Thanks so much and I look forward to getting to know everyone better!

Kate

Wiped Out

Staff member
Welcome Kate,