Anyone else scared to fly? What do you do when you have to fly...

BusynMember

besides take drugs? :redface:
I have to fly to Las Vegas next weekend and am already getting scared in advance. Any tricks? I'll have a friend with me who isn't afraid at all so that will help. I always get his giant wave of terror just as I'm boarding the plane and I want this trip to be better. Then, of course, I have to fly back too. I can't back out either! And for those of you who are going to say, "Oh! Las Vegas is so much fun!" lol I know it is, but I'm a writer and I'm going to a writing conference so I won't see much of Las Vegas.

tiredmommy

I heard once that the most risky time in flying is takeoff and landing... about the first and last three minutes of any flight. It sounds stupid but I count out 300 seconds (in my head) when we first takeoff and are getting ready to land. That's five minutes so I know if I make it all the way to 300 then I'm statistically safe! I've also been known to simultaneously gently squeeze each wrist with the opposite hand... it tends to relax me.

I hope you're able to fit in a little fun. Enjoy the warmer weather!

Abbey

Spork Queen
Drugs.

I'm not good at flying. My last plane trip back I learned to notify the poor person who was seated next to me that I grab anything around me at the slightest turbulance. Fortunately, she was understanding.

My daughter, on the other hand, has a HUGE problem and takes massive medications about 30 minutes before takeoff. She's a peach when she gets off the plane. She can barely walk.

Benadryl is the magic pill for me. I fall asleep for most of the flight, but the downside is I'm very drowsy when I arise.

Good luck on your flight and take some time to enjoy Vegas!

Abbey

gcvmom

Here we go again!