Bad week, father in law is dying...been gone since Monday

hearts and roses

Mind Reader
What an emotional week. H's dad is dying-terminal pancreatic cancer. His liver and pancreas have shut down and his kidneys are not far behind. It is a very sad time for H and his sibs, and his mom, who most of us agree is not okay to live alone. She has serious bouts of depression and isolates herself so without father in law to pull her out of it, she will not fare well.I was not going to go with H to florida initially but he expected me to and said he wanted me to-I thought he needed me for support so I went. We left on Monday afternoon and got back last night after midnight-we are exhausted. Plus, I have some experience in this arena and since H's sister and brother included me in the discussions about health care planning for his dad (and mom) I thought I might be able to provide some valuable input. NOT.The thing is I don't know why every time I am with H's family I think that this one time will be the time that his mother accepts me as his wife and as part of the family, include me, acknowledge me, something. Granted she was under duress, but really? It doesn't matter what's going on, the woman makes it very clear she would like me to become part of the woodwork...not be seen, not be heard. And, I hate to say it, but until H opens his mouth in my honor and defense, this prevailing attitude towards me by his mother will never change. And now, his father is dying, he was our buffer. He was the one who made visits tolerable, who I loved and respected,despite his bad behavior at times, lol. She shot arrows at me with her eyes every time I spoke, she excluded me at meals, in conversations, at the hospital and when she introduced me she couldn't get the words 'daughter in law' out and stumbled and just said, Uh, this is, Uh, um, this is H&R. This, after introducing her children by their full names....not, 'this is my son's wife, this is my daughter in law' nope. After 15 years o