Bare with-me...I'm new

mari7413

How many of you guys have experienced your child hallucinating? I'm new to this, and it brings me to tears every time my difficult child does this. How commen is it? Is it dangerous? Help...

smallworld

Is your difficult child on any medications? If so, what and how much? Some medications can cause hallucinations, and in that case, should be discontinued. In other cases, hallucinations are part of BiPolar (BP) and need treatment with atypical antipsychotics.

JJJ

Well, I'd rather help while clothed :smile:

My daughter hallucinates. It was dangerous in her case because she would respond to the hallucinations with violence. She's on an AP to stop them. What has your psychiatrist tried to get them to stop?

Welcome,

mari7413

I live in po-dunk AR, I'm still trying to find a doctor TO treat him. Just recently has a doctor diagnosis him as bipolar. He has all the signs, and a super strong family history, but no one around has ever dealt with an early onset bipolar.

So, it's not from medications. And he doesn't react to them other than sometimes getting scared. And it's usually when he's really manic or mixed.

TiredSoul

Warrior Mom since 2007
I have no experience in this area at all. I am curious to know some examples of the tpye of hallucinations your difficult child has had. I just read the following to familiarize myself:

"A hallucination occurs when environmental, emotional, or physical factors such as stress, medication, extreme fatigue, or mental illness cause the mechanism within the brain that helps to distinguish conscious perceptions from internal, memory-based perceptions to misfire. As a result, hallucinations occur during periods of consciousness. They can appear in the form of visions, voices or sounds, tactile feelings (known as haptic hallucinations), smells, or tastes."

also: