Can you get fired for being sick?

Here's the thing, I had been out of work on that 12 week Federal Family leave program. My 12 weeks end in April, I think the 19th. I work in a school. My problem is anorexia, in other words, phychiatric. I do not have tenure. I have never been written up or any have had strikes against me in any form, all my yearly observations done by my principal have been glowing.

I know I need a Dr's note to come back, which I may not get by the 19th because I still only weigh 91 pounds. I just ate a bag of jellybeans, mashed potatos and 2 ice cream sandwiches. I think I can get the note if I try.

But, the school wants my Dr's records. WTH? My union said not to sign the clearance, but I just spoke to the head of my Special Education dept and he needs it, because he says this isn't like a broken arm. First of all I can't sign it until I'm ready to go back because he'll see how much I weigh right now!!!! The exact same as when I left! But in a way, I do want him to see that I don't have an underlying condition like depression or bipolar, and although I do have anxiety, I don't take medication, I'm weaned off all of it.

If I don't go back on the 19th, my union said I could put in a request, and ask for more time without my benefits. They can say, "Yes" or "No". No would mean I'm fired. Like I stated, I have no tenure. Would it be legal to fire me for this? Maybe because it's psychiatric it would be. I'm just going to keep eating, I'm meeting husband for lunch every day at his job- so we can eat together, tonight we are going out to dinner, I know I can gain.

This could also happen, I get the note and I'm ready for the 19th, and the school refuses me back. The union told me this may happen if I sign the release. The school may not like what they see.

DaisyFace

Love me...Love me not
Upallnight--

This almost goes along with Star's thread: