Conference tomorrow- homework main topic

navineja

I have scheduled a conference with N's teacher for tomorrow to discuss the homework issue. I am still new to the way that all this works (being that the twins are only in 1st grade), so I am just looking for some ideas on how to best present this. The teacher is aware of the problems with the hw at home, but has no trouble with N doing work at school. I am not even really sure what it is that I want to do or tell her, beyond the fact that I want the screaming and defiance to GO AWAY! (I know, I know...)
Last week homework and behavior was excellent, due to N and J knowing that getting to do something special on Thursday depended on cooperation. So then Friday started the downhill slide. Saturday J melted down and put a kink in a family time, which upset husband a lot. (So then he was a bit difficult child himself and has stayed that way all week! Love him to death though.) Then Monday was a total homework disaster with N. I did just basically ignore her except to tell her that she was welcome to join the rest of us when she finished. After about 3 hours, I gave her something to eat and sent her to bed. The next day, the teacher "put her on yellow" (color code used at school for behavior) for not doing her homework and told her that whenever she didn't finish, that would be the consequence. Herein lies my dilema: We have not had problems since the teacher did this and I am loving the peace, BUT I am not sure that this is the best approach. Since this is a problem with defiance toward Mom, should it be handled by the teacher? Will this help N develop the proper attitude toward doing what she needs to at home? I am not really sure how to put into words what I am trying to say, but hopefully someone out there gets me. Basically, I am torn between having peace in the home by letting the teacher handle it, and feeling like I am shirking my responsibility towards N and her training.