Confidentiality or Cone of Silence??? Open to advice....

Rachel W.

Hello all. I'm a newbie with a question regarding confidentiality at school. My difficult child/easy child (depending on when you catch her) will be 8 in July. She is Pervasive Developmental Disorder (PDD)-not otherwise specified, diagnosed at age 5, with possible Obsessive Compulsive Disorder (OCD) comorbidity that I am still trying to get diagnosed. We have been very, *very* lucky in our school placements so far. We have been working at home and at school to help her overcome aggression since age 3.5. Thus far, in spite of her social issues she has managed to keep academics at and above grade level consistently since kindegarten. The one issue that continues to nag at me is that there seems to be no way to communicate to her classes what is going on with her, so the kids she is with and their parents will have some context for her behavior. I discuss this with her program coordinator every year, and every year the concern is "confidentiality." The only problem is, I've got a kid with a development disorder who in spite of all the behavior mod we are doing acts out periodically. We don't let her get away with it, we do discipline, but it happens in spite of all we can do. *It is no secret that something is up with my kid!!!!!* Everyone at school "knows", but I am not allowed to say why! Nobody would tell a blind kid to pretend to see, or a deaf kid to pretend to hear! Why is it such an impossible thing to explain that my kid doesn't think like everybody else??????? OK--thanks for reading rant. Any advice is more than welcome.

InsaneCdn

Tricky. And touchy.
In the short run, I get where you're coming from.
In the long, it can come back to bite you.

If your kid was, say, Downs syndrome, it wouldn't be the same problem - it is a permanent disability.
But Pervasive Developmental Disorder (PDD)-not otherwise specified is fuzzy, the diagnosis may change over time...

LittleDudesMom