Daughter just went into recovery house

Pink Flamingo

I am a newbie to this site and don't even know what a difficult child is! :anxious: My 20 yr old daughter just "graduated" from a 6 week rehab hospital and is now in a women's recovery house in Georgia for at least a year. I came across this site tonight and really would love support from other parents of teenage/young adult alcoholics and addicts! I am OK right now but know that we have a long road ahead! I would love to chat with others that have been there or are in the same situation! Also, how do I find out what the abbreviations stand for?

lovemysons

Hi Pink Flamingo,

difficult child stands for "gift from God" they are the children we are struggling with...a easy child is a "perfect child" they're our children that get along fine in the world, no addiction or mental illness issues.

Pink I have 2 young adult Alcoholics/Addicts that I love. My oldest has been "dry" this time for around 4 months. My young difficult child is still using and is of great concern to me right now. Both have been using for close to 10 yrs now. We have gone through drug rehab hospitals various types of schools jail prison etc...it's been a long road.

Curious of when your daughters usage began and what types of drugs she abused? Also interested in any mental illness diagnosis...my young difficult child has bipolar disorder like myself but sigh is not taking any mood stabilizing medication. He keeps getting ahold of antidepressants and anti anxiety medications that are all wrong for his mental illness.

Wonderful that your daughter is in the process of recovery...do you attend Al Anon? I have found it also very helpful in addition to our Conduct Disorders board. I know you will love this site...so many who have traveled same road as you and can offer great support.

Welcome to the board,
LMS

P

PatriotsGirl