Delurk / Told my son to leave, finally

ODAT

Hello all -

I've been coming to the forum for a few months now. I've just been reading and relating and wishing I had found this place years ago.

I've decided to register and post today.

Last night, I finally "evicted" my 22 year old son from my home. I hope it sticks. I had to call the police to get him to leave but it wound up going very peacefully and smoothly once they got here and no one got arrested. He just left and went to stay at his girlfriends house for last night and I still haven't heard from him and hope that I don't. He was told by the police to come back for his belongings and to call an officer to accompany him to do this. That works for me.

I've been through years of hell like some of you have. I know I should probably give some background but I'm afraid that once I start typing I won't be able to stop. I just wanted to share this for now and say hello. Maybe I will come back again to post more or to respond to other posts.

I am glad I made this decision and it really feels right and I'm trying right now not to think about what might happen down the line, hence the name I choose for the forum -- ODAT = One Day At a Time. I'm still filled with sadness and some anxiety, I love my son but I don't love what he has turned into and his gross lack of respect for me.

I know I did make the right choice last night.

Thank you to all of you for being here and much thanks to whoever it was who started this place. :D

judi

I'm so sorry that you felt forced to do this. Many of us have been in the same boat. You will find many supportive folks here. I have been here on and off since 2001. Please relax and breathe and focus on YOU!

Yes I have been there too. My son is 24 and presently in jail. I have been through all kinds of *&^% too for about 7 years. I found sanity here and in Alanon. It is important to not forget about yourself.

susiestar

Roll With It