difficult child 3 is making me crazy(vent and advice welcome) Thanks

Rabbit

difficult child 3 is making me crazy!! As some of u know(from my cry for help in the watercooler) difficult child 3 has a "boyfriend " she met online. We live in USA and he lives in Canada. difficult child 3 plans to visit him in June and stay for 2 weeks. He will come down here and stay for 3-4 nights at a hotel right before she goes to Canada. She plans to travel back with him. Our home is a battlefield and there is no way I can stop her. She skypes with him almost 24/7.

gsingjane

Good morning Rabbit, I am a giant newbie on these boards and so anything you hear from me ... take with a big grain of salt!

I spend a lot of time with teenage girls, and it does seem to me that this phenomenon of "internet boyfriends" is fairly common. I remember being pretty shocked when a young lady mentioned to me that she and her "boyfriend" had "celebrated their six-month anniversary" and it turned out they'd never even met! She and this young man did eventually meet when the girl and her mother traveled to his hometown, but sadly enough, of course, the reality and the fantasy were pretty far apart. I'm no longer in close touch with this girl, but eventually she did decide that it would be a lot more fun to date someone she could actually see. But, for a while, she was obsessed, there is no other word for it.

It would seem to me in your situation that - at least - if the boyfriend is coming to visit first, you'll have some chance to look him over and come to some conclusion about whether he might be safe for your daughter to spend time with. The other suggestion I had was, if she is bound and determined to return to Canada with him, then you really do need to make sure she is using contraceptives and knows about safe sex. I think you will have to assume they will be intimate and it's certainly better to be safe than sorry.