difficult child and leukemia (long)

isisdrms

Hi all,

I used to post a few years ago during the absolutely worse times of difficult child's behavior. I have continued to lurk and have gathered so much info from y'all...

About 3 years ago, I had to admit difficult child to the children's psychiatric hopital as I just couldn't take the verbal and physical abuse plus the fact that difficult child seemed to really be "losing it". Best thing I probably ever did, as the doctors and counselors gave us the help I've been begging for several years. This was during Middle School. Two years ago, difficult child started high school. I got him involved with FFA (raised a pig of all things... :nonono: )These past two years have been great for the most part with difficult child. He was going to school, passing his classes, and more importantly behaving (well...for the most part...)at home. For the first time ever, I have been able to say that I'm proud of difficult child and what he has accomplished.

Unfortunately, last April, difficult child was running a fever I couldn't get down. Took him to the clinic, the Dr ran tests, and I get a call that early evening that difficult child needed to go right away to the ER...he has leukemia. Can you say SHOCK!! Here is a kid that never got sick, for gosh sakes we didn't even have a primary physician...just took him to the clinic. And now I'm being told he has leukemia??!!

It absolutely breaks my heart. difficult child has struggled with mental disorders and we finally have it under control and now this??!! It seems so unfair but as husband told me this all started..."everything happens for a reason. We just don't know that reason is right now."