difficult child, College, and Responsibility

S

stressbunny

Hello all,

I have visited this forum now and then over the years, and now I'm in the "Parent Emeritus" category, officially. Wow! How can time pass both so slowly (dealing with years of difficult child childhood) and so quickly?

Our oldest difficult child, JT, is 19 and finishing his first year of study at a university. He lives on campus in the dorms. It was his decision both to attend college and to pursue a technology education degree. He has always been mechanically inclined and was encouraged by his high school industrial arts teachers.

JT has student loans that cover about 1/3 of his college costs, and we are paying the rest.

In high school, JT achieved As and Bs without studying. I truly NEVER saw him open a book to study or prepare for a test/project. As a college instructor myself, I told JT many times that his high school ways wouldn't cut it in college; that he would simply have to study and prepare for classes in order to succeed. Blah, blah, blah. JT took the ACT test, without studying or preparation, of course, and scored 25.

In his first semester at college, JT failed a Psychology class and nearly an English course as well. He managed Cs in his other classes. I know he skipped classes and spent a great deal of time monkeying around in a garage he and his friends rented to work on their engines and motors, etc. JT acknowledged that he didn't put in his best effort, and we agreed that he would have to pay for any classes in which he scored lower than a C. He promised to improve his study habits and work harder in the second semester.

During this time, JT has worked as a volunteer firefighter, and he really enjoys it. He has taken a couple of certification classes, and he continues on the department in his college town.